Deepak Chahar blasted Bangladesh, India won the T20I series 2-1

Deepak Chahar blasted Bangladesh 6/7, India won the T20I series 2-1

India won the series 2–1, winning the third T20I match against Bangladesh. Deepak Chahar claimed 6/7 sensational figures and hat-trick after 174/5 help by KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer.

India defeated Bangladesh in the third T20I in Nagpur on Sunday to win the series 2–1. Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul were the stars with the bat for India, while Deepak Chahar took 6/7 figures. For Bangladesh, Mohammad Naim was the lone warrior.

Chahar needed only 3.2 overs to destroy Bangladesh, including the final three wickets. Bangladesh opener Mohammad Naeem smashed 81 off 48 balls with 10 fours and two sixes before he was bowled by Shivam Dubey (3-30).

Toss: Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah won the toss and was elected to the first region.

First innings: Shafiul Islam gave the audience a perfect start by knocking off Rohit Sharma’s prized wicket in his very first over. He also dismissed Shikhar Dhawan in the powerplay overs as India looked in trouble. However, KL Rahul (52) and Shreyas Iyer (62) combined to score 59 runs. Batting at a good strike rate, the pair put the Indian innings on track.

Read Also Rohit Sharma becomes third Indian to reach top 10 in all three formats

Rishabh Pant (6) again disappointed, while Manish Pandey (22) did well to add some quick runs at the end. India finished their innings at 174/5, giving Bangladesh a target of 175.

Second innings: As Shafiul Islam did in India’s innings, Deepak Chahar finished Bangladesh’s top order early. His two wickets – Liton Das and Soumya Sarkar – saw Bangladesh collapse to 12/2 in the third over. Chahar took four more wickets – including completing a hat-trick in the last over – with figures of 6/7.

The second innings was also the story of the heroic battle of young opener Mohammad Naim (81), although he looted the Indian bowlers without the help of his teammates. Mohammad Mithun (27) was the only batsman to support him. Naim was finally bowled against playing in the 16th over to propel India to victory.

Gamechanger: Deepak Chahar claimed a hat-trick in the last over and took a sensational figure of 6/7. These are the best bowling figures in T20I history, breaking the 6/8 record that Ajantha Mendis had.

Brief Score: IND 174/5 (20) | BAN 144 all out (19.2)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here